1. Hello!

First of all, welcome to MapleLegends! You are currently viewing the forums as a guest, so you can only view the first post of every topic. We highly recommend registering so you can be part of our community.

By registering to our forums you can introduce yourself and make your first friends, talk in the shoutbox, contribute, and much more!

This process only takes a few minutes and you can always decide to lurk even after!

- MapleLegends Administration-
  2. Experiencing disconnecting after inserting your login info? Make sure you are on the latest MapleLegends version. The current latest version is found by clicking here.
    Dismiss Notice

What is a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) Attack?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SapphireJ, Oct 9, 2017.

1. SapphireJ

SapphireJ Dark Stone Golem

Aug 30, 2017
    Male
    6:35 PM
    HarmonyMagic
    Beginner
    Agape
    So, I started playing MapleLegends (ML) around June 2017 to re-live some good ol Maple Story memories and sadly, sometimes we all encounter server down times sometimes, caused by Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks. Whenever the server goes down due to these attacks, it causes many ML players asking everywhere on the ML Forums and Discord Server with questions such as the definition of a DDoS Attack, is it stoppable and who is doing it?

With the overwhelming response whenever the attacks start, I decided to write a thread here to answer all of you player's questions once and for all.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    A Denial of Service (DoS) attack, is a cyber attack which utilizes a computer, server, botnet and/or network to flood/overwhelm a targeted server or network with meaningless traffic (or otherwise, overloading it), causing it to either dip in performance (lagging) or turning it into a zombie (connection loss).